THE ORIGINAL PLAN OF THE CHURCH
Designed in 1899 by J.E. Newberry. Note the needle spire and design of the tower in contrast to the image below.
ST. HILDA’S AS COMPLETED IN 1908
Responding to a sermon, a generous lady promised an annual subscription to build a tower, however only the octagonal story could be built as foundations had only been prepared to carry the squat transept and fleche spire figured in the plan above. A plaque in the belfry warns not to hang a peal of bells for the same reason.
INTERIOR LOOKING EAST
Note the wall and gates of the Chancel removed in the 1959 alterations, but at the time of building fashionable and providing the two ambos for readings and preaching. (no pulpit or lecturn).
THE GARDEN FETE 1911
The Vicarage Garden in July 1911
THE FETE PROGRAMME OF 1911
THE LADY CHAPEL – FIRST FURNISHING
At the beginning of last century dedicating a ‘Lady’ chapel could prove controversial, so the original plans show it as aa transept for pews. However it was, no doubt, intended as a chapel in honour of St Mary. Note the altar surrounded by curtains – later removed when the fashion changed. The posts are still in store.
The Chancel still lacking the fine oak choir pews we know today. The original reredos (back of the altar) of blue William Morris tapestry still exits though much faded, as do the ‘Arts and Crafts’ Cross and candlestcks – though now used elsewhere.